2019 Awardees

indicates Audience Choice winner. The Audience Choice award is for the best soundbite, which is a two-minute overview of their work presented as one slide to the audience.


Andee Beierle
“Passive resonant sensors for wireless detection and quantification of ionic compounds in opaque systems”
Iowa State University
Research advisor: Nigel Reuel
Michael Bowen
“Mind Over Matter: Intelligent Quantum Dot Synthesis Enabled by a Modular Continuous Flow Reactor”
North Carolina State University
Research advisor: Milad Abolhasani


Jamie Chuvalo-Abraham
“Identification of RNA oxidation as a novel biomarker of air pollution exposure”
The University of Texas at Austin
Research Advisor: Dr. Lydia Contreras
Thomas Colburn
“High performance roll-to-roll printed PTB7-Th:PC71BM organic solar cells enabled by rapid additive removal”
Stanford University
Research advisor: Prof. Zhenan Bao


Kasie Coogan
“Fabrication of Microporous Hyaluronic Acid Hydrogels through Salt Leaching”
The University of Alabama
Research advisor: Shreyas Rao
Derek Dardzinski
“Surface Reactivity of MoS2 with Varying Defect Densities Studied by Ambient Pressure X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy”
Oregon State University
Research advisor: Gregory Herman


Bhavish Dinakar
“Controlling CO2 Adsorption Capacity in Diamine-Functionalized Metal-Organic Frameworks”
University of California, Berkeley
Research advisor: Jeff Long
Madison Driskill
“Nanofabrication Using Self-Assembled Monolayers”
University of Arizona
Research advisor: Anthony Muscat


Noah Eckman
“Direct Laser Writing of Three-Dimensional Graphene-Laden Microstructures and Further Applications”
University of Maryland, College Park
Research advsior: Ryan Sochol
Madeleine Goedegebuure
“Development of a Luminescent Insulin Secretion Reporter Platform for High-Throughput Drug Screening for Diabetes”
Washington University in St. Louis
Research advisor: Jeffrey Millman


Marola Issa
“Charged Nanoparticles Quench the Propulsion of Active Janus Colloids”
Cleveland State University
Research advisor: Christopher Wirth
Daniel Krajovic
“Recyclable Shape-Memory Elastomers”
University of Rochester
Research advisor: Mitchell Anthamatten


Magdelene Lee
“Super-Resolution Visualization of Peptide Self-Assembly with Alexa-488 Dye”
University of Alabama
Research advisor: Rein Ulijn
Kristine Loh
“Understanding Time-Dependent Light-Matter Interactions of Mo2TiC2 MXene Films”
Drexel University
Research advisor: Jason Baxter


Georges Motchoffo Simo
“Surfactant Choice Determines Toxicity and Uptake of Biodegradable Nanoparticles in the Brain”
University of Washington, Seattle
Research advisor: Elizabeth Nance
James Owens
“Silver Nanoparticle Pulsed Synthesis and Attachment to Cellulose Nanocrystals”
Virginia Tech
Research advisor: Dr. Michael Bortner


Thomas Porter
“Compact Surface Modification of Quantum Dots for Applications in DNA Nanotechnology”
The Ohio State University
Research advisor: Jessica Winter
Priyanka Raghavan
“Optical Room Temperature Nanodiamond Hyperpolarizer and its Performance Optimization”
University of California, Berkeley
Research advisor: Ashok Ajoy


Mahmoud Ramadan
“Mitigating Microbiologically Influenced Corrosion of An Oilfield Biofilm Consortium on Carbon Steel in Hydrotest Using 2,2-Dibromo-3-nitrilopropionamide (DBNPA) Coupled with A Chemical Synthesized 14-mer Peptide”
Ohio University
Research advisor: Tingyue Gu
Sanjna Shah
“Investigating Metal Oxide Supported Cu as Catalysts for the Electrochemical Reduction of CO2 to Hydrocarbon and Oxygenates”
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Research advisor: Paul Kenis


Soham Sinha
“Addressing age related hearing loss through engineering accessible and affordable hearing technology”
Georgia Institute of Technology
Research advisor: Saad Bhamla
Henry Squire
“Solvation and Mobility of Organic Redox Active Species in Deep Eutectic Solvents”
Case Western Reserve University
Research advisor: Burcu Gurkan


Gavin Yeung
“Combinatorial Synthesis of MgxZn1-xO thin films for use in CdTe solar cells”
Colorado School of Mines
Research advisor: Colin Wolden