Dec 3, 2019  |  Alumni

Alums Steffanie B. Easter, Kobe Felton and Jerry Spivey are in the News

Alumni Steffanie B. Easter (B.S. ’85), Kobe Felton (B.S. ’18) and Dr. James J. (Jerry) Spivey (B.S. ’72 M.S. ’74) have recently either received career awards or were featured in news articles in a significant way… Steffanie received a 2019 […]

Dec 1, 2019  |  Awards and Honors

Professor Christine Grant Honored with Two National Awards

  Professor Christine S. Grant was recently honored with two national awards… First, she received the 2019 William W. Grimes Award for Excellence in Chemical Engineering from the AIChE Minority Affairs Committee. The Committee promotes activities that encourage the education […]

Nov 27, 2019  |  Awards and Honors

Kaihang Shi Received the AIChE CoMSEF Annual Graduate Student Award

Graduate student Kaihang Shi has received the AIChE Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum (CoMSEF) Annual Graduate Student Award. The award “recognizes significant contributions to research in computational molecular science and engineering by graduate students.” According to their web site, […]

Nov 22, 2019  |  Research

Sticky Dendritic Microparticles Formed by Harnessing ‘Liquid Chaos’

This article is a modified version of an article written by Mick Kulikowski, Director of Strategic Communications and Media Relations in University Communications. Professor Orlin Velev and his research group have developed unique materials with distinct properties akin to those […]

Nov 14, 2019  |  Events

Future Leaders in Chemical Engineering – 2019

The Future Leaders in Chemical Engineering symposium is a highly selective research symposium that’s organized by the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at NC State University. The 1.5 day symposium is a platform for the finest and brightest undergraduate […]

Nov 12, 2019  |  Research

A New Class of Antimicrobial Materials – Self-Sterilizing Polymers

This article is a slightly modified version of an article written by Matt Shipman, Research Lead in University Communications. Professor Richard Spontak and his colleagues have developed two new types of elastomeric polymers with highly effective, broad-spectrum antimicrobial properties. This […]